The CHPCA's Board of Directors is subdivided into committees, each of which focuses on a particular aspect of the CHPCA's activities. Please visit the links below for more information about each committee.

Executive Committee

The CHPCA Executive Committee is elected by the CHPCA Board of Directors and acts on behalf of the Board of Directors when the Board is not in session. The Executive Committee membership includes the President, Vice-President, Past-President, Secretary/Treasurer, and two (2) members of the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee meets at regular intervals by teleconference.


  • Val Paulley - President
  • Rick Firth -  Past-President
  • Meg Milner - Vice-President
  • Jeff Christiansen - Secretary/Treasurer
  • Carolyn Marshall - Nova Scotia Provincial Representative
  • Terri Woytkiw - Alberta Provincial Association
  • Sharon Baxter - Executive Director (ex-officio)

Executive Committee - Terms of Reference

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for supervision of the Association's finances. Membership on the Finance Committee includes: the Secretary/Treasurer, the Executive Director, and the Finance Officer. The President is an ex-officio member of this Committee.


  • Jeff Christiansen - Secretary/Treasurer (Chair)
  • Jean Morrison - Saskatchewan Representative (Member)
  • Sharon Baxter - Executive Director (ex-officio)
  • Sandie Lessard - Finance Officer (staff)

Finance Committee - Terms of Reference

Organizational Development Committee

Members of the Organizational Development Committee (ODC) are selected from within the CHPCA Board of Directors. The ODC acts on behalf of the Board of Directors and provides advice and recommendations through the following three Sub-committees: Policy Sub-committee [Link through anchor to: policy-subcommittee section], Federal/Provincial Sub-committee [Link through anchor to: Federal/Provincial Sub-Committee] & Nominations/By-Laws Sub-committee [Link through anchor to: Nominations/By-Laws Sub-Committee]. The ODC meets prior to each Board of Directors meeting and at the call of the Chair.


  • Rick Firth - Chair
  • Val Paulley
  • Meg Milner
  • Carolyn Marshall
  • Sharon Baxter - Executive Director (ex-officio)

Organizational Development Committee - Terms and Conditions

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee coordinates the process and procedure for selection of recipients of awards presented annually by the CHPCA.


  • Donna Kavanagh - Chair
  • Linda Abbott
  • Maryse Bouvette
  • Marg Poling
  • Sharon Baxter - Executive Director (ex-officio)

Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID) Committee

The Hastened Death Committee (formerly the Physician Assisted Dying Committee) provides expertise and advice to the CHPCA on relevant national and international issues with respect to Euthanasia, Physician Assisted Dying (also known as physician assisted suicide), Medical Assistance in Dying and Quality End-of-Life Care.

  • Sharon Baxter - Chair
  • Chris Vadeboncoeur
  • Carla Carlson
  • Maryse Bouvette
  • Susan MacDonald
  • Marg Poling
  • Dr. David Henderson
  • Terri Odeneal
  • Stephen Claxton-Oldfield

CHPCA Issues Paper on Euthanasia, Physician-Assisted Suicide and Quality End-of-Life Care

CHPCA Q&A Guide for Health Care Practitioners and Volunteers on Medical Assistance in Dying - English