Award of Excellence


To recognize the outstanding national contribution of a CHPCA member who exemplifies professional and/or personal commitment and achievement in the field of hospice palliative care within Canada.

 Past Award Recipients

2012 Pat Porterfield
2011 Dr. Mary Lou Kelley
2010 Fred Nelson
2009 Rose De Angelis
2008 Dale Orychock
2007 Dr Bernard Lapointe
2006 Dr Mike Harlos
2005 Dr S Lawrence Librach
2004 Jerry Rothstein
2003 Andrée Gauvin
2002 Dr Jose Pereira
2001 Laurie Anne O'Brien
2000 Dr Balfour M Mount
1999 Dr Elizabeth Latimer
1998 Helen Bateman
1997 Ina Cummings

Award Eligibility

The nominee is an exemplary CHPCA member whose excellence is devoted to hospice palliative care in Canada in either a paid or voluntary capacity. To be a recipient of this award, the nominee must have made an impact at the national level and contributed to the mission of CHPCA by enhancing the quality of life for individuals and their loved ones who are facing a life threatening illness and bereavement.

The award will be presented to only one individual in a given year and it is possible that it may not be granted every year.

How to submit a Nomination:


Download the nomination form here

Deadline for Award of Excellence Nominations: August 26, 2013

Balfour Mount Champion Award 

Balfour MountNote: The Balfour Mount Champion Award is an amalgamation of the former Balfour Mount Leadership Award and the CHPCA Champion Award. The amalgamation was recommended by the CHPCA Awards Committee and approved by the Board of Directors on April 25, 2009.

Award Purpose

  • To celebrate and recognize contributions from Canadian individuals, companies and/or organizations who, through their actions, advance the mission and mandate of the CHPCA;
  • To publicly communicate and highlight the work and efforts of these individuals, companies and/or organizations.

Award Spirit

  • National Champion
  • Committed to Excellence
  • Knowledgeable
  • Dedicated Leadership
  • Public Awareness

 Past Award Recipients

2012 Dr. Michael Downing
2011 Dr Neil MacDonald
2010 Quality End-of-Life Care Coalition of Canada (QELCCC)


Recipients of the CHPCA Champion Award are selected by the CHPCA Board of Directors. Nominations from the general public are not accepted.

Media Award

Award Purpose

  • The CHPCA Media Award recognizes media professionals and organizations for outstanding coverage and advancement of issues related to hospice palliative and end-of-life care in Canada.
  • To publicly communicate and highlight exemplary media professionals and organizations that advance public awareness of hospice palliative care and quality end-of-life care in Canada.

Past Award Recipients

2012 Globe and Mail and Lisa Priest
2011 The Graduate Program of Journalism at Western and the CBC
2010 Tim Wilson
2007 Zone 3 Inc.
2006 The Ottawa Citizen


Award Eligibility

  • An exemplary media professional or organization that advances public awareness of hospice palliative care and end-of-life care in Canada.
  • Stories may be news, feature, column or opinion pieces and may be a single piece of work or a series. A series will be judged as a single piece.
  • Emphasis will be placed on media professionals or organizations who have made an impact at the national level.
  • The recipient must be a Canadian citizen or organization.
  • The recipient of the Media Award must meet all of the selection criteria as determined by the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association. It is possible that the award may not be granted in every year. The award will be given to only one individual or organization in a given year.


Recipients of the CHPCA Media Award are selected by the CHPCA National Office. Nominations from the general public are accepted and encouraged.